The past year has perhaps been the most confusing time in Michigan politics. For the first time in our state’s history, the people of Michigan voted to overhaul the redistricting process and develop an Independent Citizen’s Redistricting Commission. After much deliberation, many public hearings and lawsuits, the maps are final.

This process, combined with term-limits and legislators seeking higher office, has resulted in a scenario where virtually every district in northern Michigan is now an open seat. Only a few incumbents have maintained a similar district as they now represent.

That’s why the Northern Michigan Chamber Alliance developed our 2022 Election Guide. This page is intended to be a matter-of-fact guide to help understand new district lines and corresponding candidate information.

Click on a candidate’s picture to learn more about them. Click on their name to see campaign finance reports.

Base numbers according to MIRS News.

For any questions, please contact NMCA Director of Government Relations, Henry Wolf at

Thanks for visiting this page, be sure to tell your friends and colleagues about this opportunity to learn more about candidates asking for our vote this fall.

State Senate: District 32

Benzie, Manistee, Mason, Muskegon, Oceana

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 50.2%

Republican – 49.8%

Sen. Jon Bumstead will take on Rep. Terry Sabo of Muskegon.

State Senate: District 33

Ionia, Kent, Lake Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Ottawa

Sen. Rick Outman will face Democrat challenger Mark Bignell in November.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 36.2%

Republican – 63.8%

Mark Bignell (D-Greenville)
Rick Outman (R-Six Lakes)

State Senate: District 34

Bay, Clare, Clinton, Gratiot, Isabella, Lake, Mecosta, Midland, Osceola, Saginaw, Wexford

Rep. Roger Hauck will face off against Democrat Christine Gerace.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 41.5%

Republican – 58.5%

Christine Gerace (D-Beaverton)
Roger Hauck (R-Mount Pleasant)

State Senate: District 36

Alcona, Alpena, Arenac Crawford, Iosco, Isle, Kalkaska, Manistee, Missaukee, Montmorency, Ogemaw, Oscoda, Otsego, Presque Roscommon, Wexford

Rep. Michele Hoitenga will be up against former Rep. Joel Sheltrown in November.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 37.9%

Republican – 62.1%

State Senate: District 37

Antrim, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Emmet, Leelanau Mackinac, Grand Traverse

Rep. John Damoose will run against Barbara Conley.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 43.2%

Republican – 56.8%

State Senate: District 38

Alger, Baraga, Chippewa, Delta, Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keewenaw, Luce, Mackinac Marquette, Menominee, Ontonagon, Schoolcraft

Sen. Ed McBroom will take on Democrat John Braamse of Marquette.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 45.7%

Republican – 54.3%

John Braamse (D-Marquette)
Ed McBroom (R-Vulcan)

State House: District 100

Clare, Lake, Mecosta, Osceola

Republican Tom Kunse will face Democrat Nate Bailey in November.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 37.9%

Republican – 62.1%

State House: District 101

Clare, Lake, Mecosta, Osceola

Joseph Fox will run against Democrat Amanda Siggins.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 36.4%

Republican – 63.6%

State House: District 102

Manistee, Mason, Muskegon, Oceana

Sen. Curt VanderWall will face Brian Hosticka.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 43.8%

Republican – 56.2%

State House: District 103

Benzie, Grand Traverse, Leelanau

Grand Traverse County Commissioner Betsy Coffia will take on Rep. Jack O’Malley in November.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 48.2%

Republican – 51.8%

State House: District 104

Antrim, Benzie, Grand Traverse, Kalkaska, Manistee, Wexford

Rep. John Roth will compete against Democrat Cathy Albro.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 38.8%

Republican – 61.2%

State House: District 105

Antrim, Crawford, Kalkaska, Missaukee, Oscoda, Otsego, Roscommon

Rep. Ken Borton will run against Democrat Adam Wojdan.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 36.0%

Republican – 64.0%

State House: District 106

Alcona, Alpena, Cheboygan, Montmorency, Oscoda, Presque Isle

Cheboygan County Drain Commissioner Cam Cavitt will take on Marie Fielder in November.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 38.9%

Republican – 61.1%

State House: District 107

Charlevoix, Chippewa, Emmet, Mackinac

Neil Friske will face Jodi Decker.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 42.2%

Republican – 57.8%

State House: District 108

Chippewa, Delta, Luce, Mackinac, Menominee Schoolcraft

Menominee County Commissioner David Prestin will face Democrat Chris Lopez in November.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 40.5%

Republican – 59.5%

State House: District 109

Alger, Baraga, Dickinson Marquette, Menominee

Jenn Hill will take on Republican Melody Wagner.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 52.9%

Republican – 47.1%

Jenn Hill (D-Marquette)
Melody Wagner (R-Gwinn)

State House: District 110

Dickinson, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Keewenaw, Ontonagon

The field is set here – Democratic candidate Casey VerBerkmoes is challenging Rep. Greg Markkanen in November.

Base Numbers:

Democrat – 42.9%

Republican – 57.1%

Greg Markkanen (R-Hancock)
Casey VerBerkmoes (D-Hubbell)