2023 Northern Michigan Policy Conference Speakers Announced

The Northern Michigan Chamber Alliance will host the 2023 Northern Michigan Policy Conference on January 20 at the Grand Traverse Resort & Spa in Acme, Michigan. The Alliance represents a coalition of 16 chambers and economic development organizations and over 7,000 member businesses from across northern Michigan. 

Registration for the conference is $35 per person or $350 for a reserved table of eight with priority seating and is available at https://traverseconnect.com/nmpc. The 2023 Northern Michigan Policy Conference is presented by Consumers Energy. 

Now in its fifth year as a policy conference after serving as the Alliance’s annual agenda-setting meeting for years, the Northern Michigan Policy Conference is designed to leverage diverse strategies to enhance the northern Michigan region’s standing as a world-class place for business, residents, visitors, and students of all ages. 

“The Northern Michigan Policy Conference helps launch northern Michigan policy needs to the forefront, enhancing our grassroots advocacy efforts and strengthening our relationship with Lansing,” said Sarah Van Horn, president of the Charlevoix Area Chamber of Commerce and chair of the Alliance. “Bringing our regional business owners and municipal leaders to the same table with state legislators provides the opportunity for cohesive solutions that our Northern Michigan Chamber Alliance can continue to advance in our everyday work. 

Confirmed guests include U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow and Gary Peters, Lieutenant Governor Garlin Gilchrist II, Congressman John Moolenaar, Acting Director of the Michigan State Housing Development Authority Gary Heidel, new Acting Director of the Michigan Department of Transportation Brad Wieferich, Michigan Office of High-Speed Internet Chief Connectivity Officer Eric Frederick, and Sarah Lucas, Deputy Director of the Office of Rural Development.

Michigan legislators in attendance will be State Senators John Damoose and Michele Hoitenga, State House Speaker and Representative Joe Tate, and State Representatives Betsy Coffia, Tom Kunse, John Roth, and Curt VanderWall.